Pass Summit 2011… A First Timers Experience

Words really cannot describe the experience. The SQL Server community is an amazing community to be a part of. The camaraderie among peers is undoubtedly extraordinary. From what I recall there were over 500 first timers this year which just proves the PASS community is growing at a great rate. I have only been involved with PASS for a few years now and have become the V.P. for the Arizona Pass Chapter, a SQLSaturday Phoenix Organizer and now a volunteer/presenter scheduler for the Performance Pass Virtual Chapter. So if you have any questions about Pass feel free to drop me a line, I would love to chat with you about it.

Back to the summit…

The Pass Summit is technically a three-day fun-filled event from Wed – Fri but there were pre-conference seminars (precons) that occurred on Monday and Tuesday which I did not attend. From what I hear the (precons) were amazing. Hopefully next year I can be fortunate enough to attend those as well. I only attended the Wed – Fri sessions. My main focus was on performance but there were many other tracks to choose from. The ever so popular business intelligence to administration to development to professional development. Definitely something for everyone.

The training is just one part of the conference but the relationships you build from networking is priceless. I finally met so many people whom I have literally known for several years for the first time. I know that sounds odd, but the power of social networking just brings people from all walks of life together. The best part is that you feel like you’ve been friends forever even though this is the first time meeting one another. That’s the energy of the SQL Community and I am proud to be a part of it. I learned a lot and have so many thoughts and scenarios running through my mind that I need to organize them into actionable items and prepare to blog about them. There’s so much more I can say about the benefits of attending the Pass Summit, but take it from me (a first timer) that it’s well worth it and you’ll never forget it. Hope to see and/or talk with you soon at a local, national or international event!

Just in case you wanted to see some the photos taken at this years and past Pass Summit events… Pass Summit 2011 and Pass Summit Past Events.

Leave a Reply

