A Different Day

5/25 started out different. I woke up about an hour earlier than my alarm despite the fact I ended up crashing out around 1:30 AM. I woke up completely awake, perfectly content and I felt very refreshed with only 4.5 hrs of rest. I had no need for coffee, just a tuck and roll to the home office with a quick stop at the local Bistro (my kitchen) for a power breakfast a la cart. You have to love light traffic.

I logged into work and I flew through the critical SQL SCOM alerts and moved onto the SQL Health & Backup report. Then I finished up right on time to join SQL Sentry’s “Learn How to Tune Queries” webinar. Unfortunately I am not well versed with 3rd party monitoring tools outside of the minimal SSMS tools, which is why I tend to participate as much as I can in demos, forums and similar sessions.

I learned a lot about SQL Sentry’s Plan Explorer and I can honestly say it will definitely be extremely beneficial as I venture into the realm of performance tuning. This literally could not have come at a better time. At my current place of employment there are plans in the works to include me in several tuning aspects which is why I have immersed myself with profiler, database engine tuning advisor and thanks to the SQL community I am learning the many available DMVs.

A huge surprise came at the end of the session. They held a raffle and they happened to call my name. Unfortunately I couldn’t hear the audio portion when they explained what the item was, but I did hear my name called, so I responded. I had figured I won a license for one of their awesome monitoring software packages like the SQL Sentry: Power Suite or their Performance Advisor for SQL Server. To be honest it really didn’t matter to me because either would have been a sweet prize!

Anxious as I was I turned to twitter and pinged Brent Ozar (@BrentO | Blog) and asked what I had won since he was associated with the session. Then shortly after Aaron Bertrand (@AaronBertrand | Blog) responded and the convo went something like this:

As you can tell I was (still am) excited. Everything just worked out perfectly. So I wanted to take this opportunity to say thank you to SQL Sentry, Aaron Bertran, Greg Gonzalez (@SQLsensei | Blog), Peter Shire (@Peter_Shire) and the rest of the SQL Sentry staff for the awesome presentation and the gift. I also want to the thank the organizers of SQLCruise for hosting the event. To bad I am not going on the cruise, but I’ll be there in spirit!

Thank you SQL Sentry!!!

Did I mention the iPad 2 arrives… on… FRIDAY!!!

Leave a Reply

