T-SQL Tuesday: Lucky 7-Resolutions

Official TSQL2sday Logo

TSQL2sday

Every year I make a resolution list just like anyone else and often I am able to achieve them while other items are pushed aside for reasons beyond my control. This year however is slightly different now that I have completed my Bachelors of Science degree in Computer Information Systems with a focus on Database Management. This alone makes some of my resolutions much more attainable. With the added time that I have I can finally focus on certification studies among other things that pertain to personal and professional development. If I am able to juggle my time wisely I can achieve the ultimate ying-yang of personal time management.

So to get down to business here is my list of things I want to accomplish in 2011:

1. Health

Without no surprise in order to achieve my goals I need to be healthy. I dropped about 30 lbs during 2010 and have about 20 lbs to go to reach my ideal weight, which is 190. So before 2011 comes to a close I should be at or around 190 lbs. Chances are I will meet that goal before mid year. I am pretty confident it will be definitely before mid year.

2. Certifications

I currently hold three certifications, but it’s time to buckle down and concentrate on SQL Server centric certifications. Before the end of the first quarter I want to complete the MCITP Database Administrator certification for SQL Server 2008. Which means I started studying for exam 70-432 the beginning of this year. And in order to make things more realistic I am going to schedule for the test by this Friday (to be taken in the near future) which will add the much-needed pressure thus making accountability that more important.

3. ETL Stizzuf

There is just something about Business Intelligence that tickles my fancy. It’s hard to describe but I love reports, especially those I don’t have to hand write. 2011 will be the year I become a BI bad ass so-to-speak. To paint a picture I want to strive to become the west coast version of Brian Knight but in a smaller scale all while wearing Adidas kicks or sandals with socks on because I feel strange without socks… all other attire is optional. At one point or another within the year I want to actually spend a night in a warehouse while developing a data warehouse. I think that would be peachy! Icing on the cake if you will.

4. Get more involved

I touched the waters last year and started to participate where I could. To my surprise I found that people are actually willing to lend a helping hand and share the wealth of knowledge with one another. When I was handed the keys to manage the organization’s data I really didn’t know where to begin or who to consult in the event I ran into a brick wall. I picked up some books, started browsing blogs and joined 26 social networking sites. Then after learning more about social networking I found that twitter and facebook seem to have the highest concentration of SQL Socialites. I can’t say they accepted me, but I can say they have made an impact on my life professionally and personally. I won’t get into details but know that I am grateful.

5. MVP or runner up

This might be a long shot given the pool of MVPs out there. So the stakes are high and quite frankly I have no idea how to toss my hat into the ring. This is something I have only read about lightly and never really asked someone how they achieved MVP status. But nonetheless I need goals to keep me aiming high and moving in the right direction.

6. Organize a SQLSaturday

This might be cheating along with a bit of self promotion since we are slated to launch #sqlsat47 this February 19th, 2011 at Chandler-Gilbert Community College. This ties into list (Item 4) about getting more involved. I am a newbie in terms of event coordinating but I plan all with my co-organizer @coneybeer to deliver a successful SQLSaturday. There is still time to register for the event… I hope to see you there!!!!

7. Participate in the TSQL2sDay blog party

I have seen many of these pop up last year and I find myself very intrigued. I did some research about #TSQL2sDay (which was founded by Adam Machanic) and anyone can become a host provided they participate in at minimum two #TSQL2sDay events which are held monthly, keep an active blog followed up with an email top Adam Machanic. So with the list I have this year and the participation that I plan on doing I should be ready come next year to host a #TSQL2sDay event. Check out the

One thought on “T-SQL Tuesday: Lucky 7-Resolutions

Leave a Reply

